History of the Junior Davis Cup

In 1972, thanks to the push of a few visionary enthusiasts from the Touquet Tennis Club, that the "Jean Becker Cup" was born. The idea was to bring together the best young European players under the age of 21.

 

Since its creation, the competition has met with great sporting and popular success, welcoming big names such as Martina Navratilova or Yannick Noah.

 

These competitions were quickly renamed "Annie Soisbault Cup" for girls and the "Jean Borotra Cup" for boys.

 

The evolution of the circuit towards an increased professionalism led to several successive changes: the age was lowered to 18 years old, then 16 years old, and the departure of the Annie Soisbault cup in the mid-1980s.

 

Led by the ITF and Tennis Europe, this competition has been organized for 48 editions by Le Touquet Tennis Club, and was finally renamed in the 2000s "Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas - Borotra Cup".

 

It awards the title of European team champion for boys 16 and under.

 

The Touquet Tennis Club has therefore hosted many tennis legends, bets including many world number one and Grand Slam winners such as: Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Yannick Noah, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker, Marat Safin, Andy Murray, as well as the best French players of recent decades with Richard Gasquet, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Gaël Monfils and more recently the next generation of world tennis: Kyle Edmund, Alexander Zverev, Andrei Rublev, Karen Khachanov, Daniil Medvedev, Ugo Humbert or Corentin Moutet!

Petite histoire de la Junior Davis Cup

C'est en 1972, sous l'impulsion de quelques passionnés visionnaires du Touquet Tennis Club que naquit la coupe Jean Becker dont l'idée était de rassembler les meilleurs jeunes joueuses et joueurs européens de moins de 21 ans. 

Dès sa création, la compétition a rencontré un vif succès sportif et populaire, accueillant de grands noms tels que Martina Navratilova ou Yannick Noah. 

Rapidement, ces compétitions ont été rebaptisées coupe Annie Soisbault pour les filles et Coupe Jean Borotra pour les garçons. 

L'évolution du circuit vers un professionnalisme accru ont mené a plusieurs changements successifs, et notamment l'abaissement de l'âge à 18 ans, puis 16 ans, et le départ de la coupe Annie Soisbault au milieu des années 1980. 

Portée par l'ITF et Tennis Europe, cette compétition demeure organisée depuis 48 éditions par Le Touquet Tennis Club, et a finalement été renommée dans les années 2000 "Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas - Borotra Cup". 

Elle attribue le titre de champion d'Europe par équipes pour les garçons de 16 ans et moins.

 

Le Touquet Tennis Club a donc accueilli de nombreuses légendes du tennis, parmi lesquels de nombreux numéros un mondiaux et vainqueurs en Grand Chelem tels que : Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Yannick Noah, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker, Marat Safin, Andy Murray, ainsi que les meilleurs joueurs français des dernières décennies avec Richard Gasquet, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Gaël Monfils et plus récemment la relève du tennis mondial : Kyle Edmund, Alexander Zverev, Andrei Rublev, Karen Khachanov, Daniil Medvedev, Ugo Humbert ou Corentin Moutet !  

tc-club-touquet-noir.png

Le Touquet Tennis Club 

Rond Point des Sports

62520 Le Touquet Paris Plage 

+33 321051933

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

Junior Davis Cup 2020 - Borotra Cup

du 02 au 05 Aout 2020

Le Touquet Tennis Club

France